miniheader curriculum


Home | Curriculum and Pedagogy | Learning and Teaching

Learning and Teaching

square library desktopsSt Thomas Aquinas Catholic Primary School is a school registered by the NSW Board of Studies and is subject to the curriculum requirements of the Board.

In NSW, the Board of Studies provides schools with syllabus documents and all primary schools are required to teach subjects from six Key Learning Areas (KLAs).  These are:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • Human Society and its Environment
  • Creative Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education

As a Catholic School we also teach Religious Education which follows a set syllabus provided by the Catholic Education Office.

At St Thomas Aquinas the teachers develop programs based on the Foundation Statements and Syllabus Outcomes.  Foundation Statements are a description of the learning the students will be engaged in at each stage of primary school.

The stages of English K-6 are as follows:

Early Stage 1 Kindergarten
Stage 1 Year 1 and Year 2
Stage 2 Year 3 and Year 4
Stage 3 Year 5 and Year 6

Syllabus outcomes are specific statements of the knowledge, skills and understanding that a student is expected to achieve.  A student would be expected to achieve the outcome by the end of a stage.

Teaching and learning at St Thomas Aquinas is focused on child-centred learning in an Inquiry approach.  The focus is on developing life long learners, who are independent and have the ability to work individually and as part of a group.